2013–Race Year in Review

2013 has been an awesome year; mostly for my racing accomplishments than anything else.

The Background

After being severely overweight (ahem, 200 pounds on a small frame) after pregnancy, I started to do something about it. That was 2011. I knew that running was the only way to get the weight off, and fast. And, oh yeah, I hated running.

Fast Forward

Fast forward through 2011 and 2012. After running countless 5k races and one ten mile race, I felt like my endurance needed to be tested again. So, I ran my first half marathon in February of 2013. After that, I was hooked. I ran a few other half marathons and 5k races. Then I raced a few open water triathlons. I was hooked on triathlon more than road racing because of the many different aspects of the race itself…it was a thrill competing in three sports, in one race. Then, I did something CRAZY. I signed up for a Half-Ironman. So, needless to say, I’ve been training hard for the hilliest 70.3 out there: St. George, Utah.

Reflection

I am utterly thankful to have such a supportive family that has kicked me out the door to start training runs, cheer me on to finish the races, and surprise me with some of the equipment I didn’t know if I could get in time (like, the bike I would need for the 56 miles in Utah–sure helps, hah). We are all blessed beyond measure. I can’t say enough to show my gratitude for those who put up with my racing stories, and all else that comes with the life of an athlete.

Here’s to a full race calendar in 2014, and loving every mile!

Leave a Reply

