Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day really isn’t a special holiday in our home. My sweet husband does always brings me flowers, and usually we’ve gotten a gift card or two so we can get takeout with the kids. In that routine, this year was no different. However, Friday was a pretty cool day.

Friday morning was marked down in the books as an awesome day, and not because it was Valentine’s Day. Training for Ironman 70.3 St. George has taken its toll on my body. Figuring out how to train properly, and actively recover are sometimes hard…especially when the race you’re training for has a TON of hills. Enough said. Ok, so why was Friday important? I swam my first straight Olympic distance race set in the pool…something I’ve never done before. It was great. Knowing that I can swim 1500m without stopping at a pretty decent pace was well worth it, and it gave me the confidence boost I needed going into St. George in a few weeks. It was definitely a special day. I think I’m learning to love swimming the more I do it.

Even though I was on a high from swimming my longest set in the pool, I still had to remember a little something about love (after all, it was Valentines Day). The greatest love we will ever know comes from God, and Him alone. The Bible says, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16). How amazing that God gave His only Son for us? To die on a cross for our sins? Now, that my friends, is love. If it wasn’t for the grace and love of God in my life, I wouldn’t be able to accomplish all these great things. To Him belongs the glory and praise in everything that we do….even in triathlon…and even on Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

