Women’s Running Series: San Diego Half Marathon Race Recap

This was the second annual Women’s Half Marathon in San Diego. They recently changed the name to the Women’s Running Series, and offered a 5k this year as well. The race was slightly different from last year, as was the place for the packet pickup.

The Expo

20140222-152907.jpg

The expo was held at Broadway Pier in downtown San Diego right next the the Midway ship. Bib pickup was easy enough, and the Pier was easy to get around. However, there were quite a few things I was dismayed about. First, the parking. I had to pay ten dollars to park for thirty minutes because the expo was by the Midway ship. Second, I personally thought the race shirt was the most hideous race shirt I’ve ever gotten. Third, there were not very many vendors. I didn’t even buy any apparel branded “Women’s Running Series” because I didn’t like the designs. I think this is the first time I’ve ever been disappointed in a race. But, those are little things, and I hope that others enjoyed them.

The Race

20140222-153232.jpg

A very sweet lady at the expo gave me her VIP wristband to get into the Subaru VIP area during the race. I am so grateful for her because that area was so awesome…clean, private bathrooms, a changing tent, free after race massages, and food from Panera were awaiting all the VIPs after the race. It was glorious.

Anyway, back to the race. It was a great start, and a beautiful morning. The race course wasn’t the exact same as last year, but it was still a great and flat course to run. I had been running with the 2:15 pace group, but suddenly my IT band flared up around mile 11.5 and the lovely race medics walked with me for a few minutes, and even helped me to the medical tent after the race. I have to say that is a first for me. I’ve never had this problem before. When it started happening, I was just praying that it wasn’t an actual injury since I have an Ironman in a few short months. Needless to say, I was embarrassed for not being able to run the last mile and a half when I could have run to a PR in this race. So sad. But, there are always other races.

The finish line was full of cheering people which made the entry nice. I got my medal and a few snacks, and headed to the medical tent then to the VIP area for my Panera food. I heard there was a freshen up lounge and cookie cafe, too; but, I didn’t hit those up this time.

All in all, this was a good race. A few minor things I would change that I liked last year a lot better. And, of course, I can’t forget my fan girl moment cheering for one of my favorite bloggers Kristin over at http://www.stuftmama.com … She rocked the race!

Make sure to check out next year’s race, and the other races in the series at womensrunning.com

Leave a Reply

